Bloomberg To Receive AIGA Corporate Leadership Award

The AIGA has named this year’s recipients of the AIGA Medal and Corporate Leadership Award. The winners of these, the association’s highest honors, will be feted at the annual AIGA Awards Gala on April 21 at Pier Sixty in New York City.

The AIGA Corporate Leadership Award will be presented to Bloomberg L.P. for its role in advancing design on multiple fronts through its industry leading products and company culture. Starting with the groundbreaking design of the flagship product, the Bloomberg Terminal, the design of media products such as Bloomberg Businessweek and, and its innovative work spaces and sophisticated branding programs, design is integral to how the company operates and provides value. The AIGA selection committee notes that, “in addition, Bloomberg demonstrates commitment to the overall advancement of design, creativity and innovation through a wide range of cultural partnerships.”

The seven individual AIGA Medalists, chosen based on their contributions to the design community through leadership and excellence over the course of their careers, will each receive an AIGA Medal which has been awarded to design professionals since 1920.

The 2017 Medalist recognition goes to:


Art Chantry for his intrepid exploration of subculture visual communication and fearless celebration of cultural diversity.








EMMETT MCBAINEmmett McBain for his revolutionary design leadership and profound social impact in co-founding Burrell-McBain Advertising.








MENDEZ REBECA 2012 BY MICHAEL POWERSRebeca Méndez for challenging and transforming academia and design with an innovative interplay of identity and culture.
Photo: Michael Powers








RANDALL MARK BY KELLY CAMPBELLMark Randall for his singular dedication to diversity in design and his tenacity in funding minority and economically disadvantaged design students.
Photo: Kelly Campbell







SKOLOS NANCY 2015-11-06N

WEDELL TOM 2015-11-06HNancy Skolos and Tom Wedell for pushing the boundaries of art, design and technology with a distinctive vision to find connection among disparate forms.






WYMAN LANCE 2016 BY NEILA WYMANLance Wyman for his mastery of visual ecosystems and for setting the standard for the universal public design experience.








Proceeds from the AIGA Gala will fund AIGA’s and the AIGA New York chapter’s educational programming and events, design resources such as scholarships and archives, and original editorial and digital content.