Dana Arnett Is AIGA President-Elect and 5 New Board Members Named

AIGA has appointed five new members to its 2017 national board of directors and named two ex officio directors:

Dana ArnettDANAARNETT_HEADSHOT_2017, VSA Partners as president-elect to work closely with current president Su Mathews Hale in the final year of her term, and Ann Willoughby, Willoughby Design, as ambassador for the AIGA Design Archives. Says Arnett: “I’m humbled by this opportunity to serve the organization and to work more closely with our diverse and talented members as we write this next chapter for AIGA.”




The new members of AIGA’s national board of directors, who will begin a three-year term on July 1, 2017, are:


ARMSTRONG-HELEN-PORTRAIT-150Helen Armstrong, North Carolina State University, AIGA Raleigh – views design from across the spectrum of a practicing designer, a college professor, and a published author. She is an associate professor at North Carolina State University and a principal at her company, Strong Design.





BROOKS-SARAH-PORTRAIT-150-1Sarah Brooks, AIGA Washington, DC – is a service designer, researcher, strategist and advocate for social change. She has led multidisciplinary teams creating products and services ranging from food systems, healthcare, media, education, finance, civic innovation, and has worked with a broad range of Fortune 500, start-up, nonprofit, and foundation clients.




Sara Frisk, Salesforce, AIGA Chicago – believes everything can be made better through design. She has learned from Michael Bierut at Pentagram and led multiple award-winning projects across a variety of industries. She served as AIGA Chicago’s president from 2012–2015.




TING-RICHARD-PORTRAIT-150Richard Ting, R/GA, AIGA New York–leads R/GA’s global experience design team as EVP, global chief experience officer. He is a sought-after digital thought leader and has served on a number of award show juries, such as The One Show, International CLIO Awards, London International Awards, Effies, and Webby Awards.




WEBER-HUGH-PORTRAIT-150Hugh Weber, OTA, AIGA South Dakota – is a researcher, network theorist, storyteller, community organizer, design advocate, and small town kid. He founded OTA, a for-purpose organization focused on sparking transformation through creative connections and collisions in North Dakota, South Dakota and Minnesota.




“Our new board members embody the diversity and spirit of the design community and bring talent, expertise and energy to the table,” said Julie Anixter, executive director of AIGA. “They will ensure that AIGA continues to operate in the best interest of past, present, and future members.”

Current members of the national board who continue to serve are:

● Justin Ahrens, Rule 29, AIGA Chicago

● Ashleigh Axios, Automatic, AIGA Washington DC

● Agustin Garza, Garza Group Communications, AIGA Los Angeles

● Su Mathews Hale, Lippincott, AIGA San Francisco

● Karin Hibma, : : CRONAN : :, AIGA San Francisco

● Richard Hollant, CO:LAB, AIGA Connecticut

● Matthew Mũnoz, New Kind, AIGA Raleigh

● Christine Taylor, Hallmark Cards, Inc., AIGA Kansas City

● Andrew Twigg, Carnegie Mellon School of Design, AIGA Pittsburgh

● Jennifer Viscoky O’Grady, Cleveland State University, AIGA Cleveland