Michael Jordan Scores Creative Hall Of Fame Honors

Spike Lee, Phil Knight, Joe Duffy, Cheryl Miller Among Inductees

The One Club for Creativity has announced three cultural and business icons who will be inducted into the Creative Hall of Fame in October. Based on a legacy of game-changing creative work, the trio of basketball legend Michael Jordan, Nike cofounder, chairman emeritus Phil Knight, and Oscar-winning screenwriter, filmmaker, and actor Spike Lee will be inducted as a team of collaborators. The trio created work –  including famous campaigns starring Jordan with the character Mars Blackmon, portrayed by Lee – that transcended the ad industry to become part of pop culture, and changed the way the world thinks about athletic footwear.

“Michael Jordan, Phil Knight and Spike Lee are responsible for a body of highly engaging, entertaining and impactful advertising, and revolutionized the athletic footwear industry,” said Kevin Swanepoel, CEO, The One Club. “They are richly deserving of this induction as collaborators into the Creative Hall of Fame, and continue to inspire the next generation of creative professionals.”

The Creative Hall of Fame has long history of honoring the lifetime achievements of creative luminaries in all forms of advertising and design, starting with the induction of Leo Burnett in 1961. 2022 inductees also include Joe Duffy, Founder, Chairman, Duffy & Partners; John Hunt, Co-founder, TBWA\Hunt\Lascaris, Global Creative Chair, TBWA\Worldwide; Cheryl D. Miller, graphic designer, writer, artist, theologian, and decolonizing historian; Nancy Vonk and Janet Kestin, former co-Chief Creative Officers at Oglivy Toronto, Co-founders Swim leadership lab; and Carol H. Williams, President, CEO, Chief Creative Officer and owner, Carol H. Williams Advertising.

The Creative Hall of Fame induction ceremony, which is a fundraising gala to support The One Club’s many global DEI programs, will take place on the evening of October 27, 2022, at Tisch Skylights at The Shed, Hudson Yards in New York. Inductees are nominated and voted on by The One Club Board of Directors and current Hall of Fame members.