Pentagram Wins ‘Best’ As TDC68 Exhibit Opens

The Type Directors Club opened its TDC68 Exhibition of this year’s competition winners in New York, as well as announced this year’s Best of Show, Judge’s Choice, top Young Ones TDC Student winners, and scholarship honorees.

The TDC68 Exhibition, displaying this year’s 68th Communications Design and 25th Typeface Design winners, is on view now through August 4, 2022 at The Cooper Union’s 41 Cooper Gallery, located at 41 Cooper Square in New York.

At the exhibition opening, the club announced a number of special competition winners and scholarship honorees.

Pentagram New York won this year’s TDC68 Best of Show for identity work on behalf of the International Center of Photography.

Young Ones TDC 2022 first-place student award winners in Communication Design were Laura Hilbert and Sarah Stendel, from Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach Offenbach am Main in Germany.  Second place went to Chuye Chen, Shanghai University Of Engineering Science.

The 2022 first-place student winner in Typeface Design was Neva Zidić from Master TypeMedia, Royal Academy of Art, The Hague.

TDC’s Beatrice Warde Scholarship 2022 recognizes a female-identifying college student globally in their next-to-last year of undergraduate study whose work demonstrates exceptional talent, sophistication, and skill in the use of typography across current media. This year’s winner was Doah Kwon, School of Visual Arts.

TDC this year renamed its Superscript Scholarship recognizing BIPOC students studying type design at a US college or university as the Adé Hogue Scholarship, in commemoration of gifted up-and-coming Chicago-based art director, designer, letterer, and avid cyclist Adé Hogue, who died as a result of a riding accident this past November.  This year’s winner was Ana Robles, Kansas City Art Institute, who also received honorable mention in the Beatrice Warde competition.

Both the Beatrice Warde and Adé Hogue scholarship programs are sponsored by Monotype

In addition, TDC works directly each year with a number of schools and asks them to identify one student each who will receive a $1,000 scholarship from the organization.  TDC Scholarships for 2022 went to:

  • Andrius Alvarez-Backus, The Cooper Union
  • Catherine Currie, Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design
  • Elliot Jover, Fashion Institute of Technology
  • Anil (Alicia) Liu, School of Visual Arts
  • Sarah Ma, Parsons School of Design
  • Elina Pyrohova, Polish-Japanese Academy (Warsaw)
  • Anthony M. Sennett, Pratt Institute