AIGA Worldstudio Scholarship Announces Jurors

AIGA has named an esteemed jury of design professionals for the 2023/2024 AIGA Worldstudio Scholarships program. The mission of the scholarship program is to increase diversity in the creative professions by removing financial barriers and providing equitable opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students from underrepresented and economically disadvantaged backgrounds. Scholarships are awarded annually to students who demonstrate talent and unmet need, along with a commitment to positive social change, environmental responsibility, and/or cultural awareness through the practice of communication design. The scholarship helps students enrolled in colleges and universities in the US.

Since its inception in 1995, nearly $1.4 million dollars has been awarded to more than 800 college students of art and design. Scholarships are awarded in amounts of $2,500–$3,750. One or two top awards may be given in an amount up to $5,000 at the jury’s discretion. Honorable mention prizes in the amount of $500 or $750 cash may also be awarded. Each scholarship is paid directly to the recipient’s school and applied toward tuition. A one-year AIGA membership is also awarded to recipients.

Comments Ana Tobin, Assistant Professor of Graphic Design, George Mason University: “Diversity in design is a key factor in making design more accessible for all. Everyone sees the world differently. We all have different past lived experiences and differing abilities that affect our perception of reality. A diverse range of designers will reach a more diverse audience.”

The 2023/2024 jurors are:

Graphic Design:

  • Tom Futrell, Associate Professor, Louisiana Tech University
  • Lilia LaGesse, Founder + Lead Strategist, Heard Creative Co.
  • Rose Newton, UX Design Manager, Google
  • Felix Sanchez, Creative Director, felix made this, llc.
  • Ana Tobin, Assistant Professor of Graphic Design, George Mason University


  • Victor Davila, Associate Professor, University of Central Florida
  • Dian Holton, Senior Deputy Art Director, AARP
  • Ashley Taylor, Lecturer, University of Central Florida
  • Armando Veve, Illustrator/Artist, Armando Veve Studio
  • Justin Wong, Designer and Art Director, Justin Wong Design


  • Jemma Dilag, Residential Creative Project Manager, CoStar Group,
  • Reggie Tidwell, Graphic Designer / Photographer, Curve Theory


  • Tom Koken, Designer, Worldstudio / Worldstudio Foundation
  • Mark Randall, Associate Dean + Assistant Professor, Parsons School of Design Strategies, Founder + Creative Director, Worldstudio