Decker Joins Adler To Co-Chair AIGA Women Lead Steering Committee

Lynda Decker, President and Creative Director of Decker Design, has been named Co-Chair alongside Deborah Adler for the AIGA Women Lead national steering committee. Decker replaces outgoing chair Su Mathews Hale who is now President of the AIGA. 

“I think this is an exciting time for professional women in the workplace,” says Decker, “There is a growing recognition that we should be preparing women for leadership roles. This is particularly relevant for the AIGA since the majority of our membership is female.” Decker acknowledges that this announcement comes on the heels of a November 2015 The New York Times article Women of Hollywood Speak Out, noting that issues for women span many creative industries.

AIGA Women Lead is committed to concentrating on issues facing women in the workplace today by teaching and practicing three goals: Celebrate (acknowledging achievements); Cultivate (building and developing network skills); and Connect (facilitate new relationships beyond the design world). Members of the updated Steering committee include Carla Frank, Shannon Gabor, Debbie Millman, Roberta Ronsivalle, Jill Spaeth, Heather Stern, Elysia Syriac, and Wacarra Yeomans. Cheryl Heller and Leslie Smolan are members emeritae.